top of page

Each year a committee of the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) identifies the best of the best in children's books. According to the Notables Criteria, "notable" is defined as: Worthy of note or notice, important, distinguished, outstanding. As applied to children's books, notable should be thought to include books of especially commendable quality, books that exhibit venturesome creativity, and books of fiction, information, poetry and pictures for all age levels (birth through age 14) that reflect and encourage children's interests in exemplary ways.


  • Younger Readers – Preschool-grade 2 (age 7), including easy-to-read books

  • Middle Readers – Grades 3-5, ages 8-10

  • Older Readers – Grades 6-8, ages 11-14

  • All Ages – Has appeal and interest for children in all of the above age ranges




All Ages

bottom of page